2014 Fall Collection Update // Project Mood Board + Pre-Ordering the Weekender Bag

2014SHOOTINSPO

 

I’m meeting with some really creative Guadalajara friends this coming week to schedule two upcoming collaboration projects for August. A photo shoot and a video shoot! The photographer is Maria. She’s one of my creative soul sistas from out here. We met for coffee months ago then she introduced me to a ton of amazing people, like her two best friends Sophie and Andrea. Together, they’ve all created this team of girls called “CyberWitches“. Makeup will be by my gurl Karla. She’s a lioness leo, like me, and has a really rad style. The video will be by Jose at Péndulo Productions. He’s the talent behind this video we did of my creative process a few months ago! I created the above mood board of images I found on Tumblr and Pinterest. The inspiration of these projects are:

Mexico’s mother nature, woman power, self-expression, music, psychedelic feelz, leather, lace, + flowing with the power of our creativity and universe.

 

I’m on my second round of prototypes for the bags I want in the Fall 2014 Collection. The first set of prototypes were okay but I wanted to give them another shot and I’m so glad I did, I like these new ones so much more. There’s more detail in these and the official new textiles are so f*cking awesome. I love seeing these bags come to life after spending weeks thinking about and sketching ideas. I’ve been fairly anxious about this collection, but I know it’s just stress built up from wanting it to be excellent, getting the word out, and preparing for my (hopefully) Fall travel back into the States. I’ve been taking time to myself and time for my mind to wander, for meditation, for clearing, for insights. I’ve also given myself some good creative time with friends… we found ourselves on the roof top two days ago, laying on our backs, staring at the clouds in pink tinted sunglasses while one of our friends played his acoustic guitar. Remaining calm through this whole process is crucial. The more stress, the more my creativity is hidden, and I don’t want that.

Read the last Bird Trouble blog post on my inspiration for the Fall 2014 Collection.

 

I’ve been posting a ton of product sneak peeks on my Instagram (click here to go to it) and on my Facebook (and click here too). I’m also taking pre-orders on the 2014 Weekender Bags. Have you seen them? Here they are below, if you’re interested in pre-ordering, just contact me through here or leave your email in the comments of this blog post. I’ll delete it as soon as I jot it down so no one else uses it. The top textile is available but the bottom one is not. I’ll give you a list of textiles to choose from though, they’re all amazing!

GIRL POWER + THE RAD & THE WILD COMING SOON TO THE BIRD TROUBLE BLOG

Stay tuned for some new exciting posts! The Bird Trouble blog is getting RAD again. Since I’m finding myself busier and busier and it’s been hard to keep up with blog posts, I will be introducing guest bloggers almost every month. For August, I have two amazing gals from NYC who are all about girl power, the girls from She/Folk. Get to know them here this coming Friday the 1st. I also have another “The Rad & The Wild” interview coming up. This time it’s with my Chicago gal, Ana Brazaityte, the artist, maker, and owner of Truss & Ore. Check out the past interviews here!

Until next time… breathe and enjoy your day, my birds. xo – Alexz

COMMENTS.

