Artist Interview with Monet Lucki, NYC Photographer & Videographer

Monet Lucki is a NYC based photographer and videographer working in house and full-time at the art department at Ford Models. I’ve known Monet since high school. If my memory is correct, we actually met each other online through Livejournal, once a place for us teenagers to network and get to know each other through our angst teenage journal entries. Monet and I would see each other at music venues and friend’s parties until we both went our different ways.

Monet moved to NYC to follow her dream to pursue photography and studied at The Parsons New School of Design. She graduated in 2013 with a Bachelors of Fine Art in Photography. Her work has been featured in multiple publications: V Magazine Online, Bullett Magazine, The Fashionisto, Haunted Mag, Creem Magazine, Lucky Magazine, NY Canvas, Rue Magazine, Ladygunn Magazine, and Lifestyle Mirror. You can see her impressive press page here. She is definitely someone that you need to keep your eye on. She is dedicated to her passion of photography and you can tell that she is a hard worker, I don’t doubt that she’s going to be big one day. Alas, here is some of Monet’s work and an interview to follow. Enjoy! – Alexz Sandoval

BT // Hey Monet! How is it going in NYC today?
ML // Today is a very beautiful day. I just sat down and enjoyed my lunch at Central Park while watching ducks attempt to break a frozen pond with their bills.

BT // 
When did you realize that photography and videography were the careers you wanted to pursue?
ML // I always circle back to when I was 9 at stay-away camp. I was taking a photography “summer elective” and was given an oatmeal box. We had to use the oatmeal box as a pinhole camera. We were given two hours alone to go take the picture, develop it and return to the campground. I just remember running through the forest, the anticipation of translating life in front of me into a printed medium was a foreign concept prior. Being able to sit down and practice that for the first time was a euphoric experience.  That beauty has stuck in my head since then, the ability to see with my eyes one way and to re-translate that site with an ownership is still a phenomena I will never be finished experiencing.

BT // 
What do you enjoy shooting with best- digital or film? What is your favorite equipment?
ML // I do enjoy the challenge of picking up whatever is available and shooting based upon the equipment, subject matter and context. I shoot with a canon 7d and whatever else is readily available — though, I can’t live without my portrait lens (50 mm 1.4).

BT // 
Who has been your biggest influences and if you could choose someone to work with, living or not, who would it be?
ML // This would be really hard to answer. My influences come from such a variety of sources. I would say any exposure to art, life, experience, the people in my life and the world surrounding us is my biggest influence. All I do is process that information internally and re-translate my perception using a camera as a tool. A few names of inspiration would be Igon Scheile, Harmony Korine, Araki, and Paolo Roversi.

BT // How would you describe your photography and videography style to someone who has never seen your work?
ML // I would describe it as dark, apathetic, “voyeuristic” and minimal to an extent.

BT // 
You’ve had your work featured in some amazing publications – What was your first big feature, when, and can you describe the feeling you had?
ML // I think my first WOW moment, similar to when I drove my first car, was my first cover shoot for Ladygunn Magazine. I shot Cole Mohr for the cover and, when I found out I would be doing so, I think I had nearly seized in over-excitement.

BT // 
Tell us how Parsons the New School of Design helped shape your skills.
ML // Parsons is an amazing institute; I will cherish everything I learned from there. The faculty is incredible, the photography students I studied with all are incredible and there is just far too much for me to rave about Parsons in one interview. I do hope to return one day and teach a course myself! Let’s just leave it at that.

BT // 
What projects are you currently working on?
ML // I have a few on-going projects at the moment. One is for U MAG — a fashion editorial — with two amazing stylists, Raul Guerrero (www.raulguerrero.net) and Sarah Perillo (sarahjeanperillo.com). I’ll have to keep those a bit quiet until they come out, though. In addition to that, my close friend, Sabrina Banta, has just begun the launch of a new publication, called Tabula Rasa (tabularasa.com). I have paired up with an amazing creative director/conceptual artist, Moriah Cyncynatus, on a project the both of us are shooting, for the first issue of Tabula Rasa. Candice Fortin has done an incredible job producing our shoot on behalf of the Tabula Rasa team. Moriah and I are taking a documentary standpoint on an unground subculture. Moriah has a background in this subculture (which will be seen in our story in May), so she brought to the table an amazing concept that we’ve been shooting for the past two weeks. Next weekend, we will be flying to Miami and then Philadelphia to shoot the reminder of the project! I couldn’t be more excited to work with such an amazing team and contribute to Sabrina’s innovative publication!

BT // 
I know you recently collaborated on a jewelry look book for designer, Annika Inez, and her new line, INEZ. Tell us a little about where the inspiration and vision came from.
 ML // Annika and I have worked very closely, for the past few years now: I have been shooting her lookbook/editorial campaigns for BYBOE, for the past few seasons. She, recently, launched her new line INEZ. We really wanted to take our similar inspiration imagery and apply it to the campaign. We spent weeks cultivating the perfect lighting inspiration and casting the best-fit model. The images can, perhaps, speak for themselves! Annika was really inspired by classic black and white portraiture and creating a contemporary but timeless look.

BT // 
What team of stylists, models, and designers have you “clicked” with the most and tell us a little about what you’ve done with them.
ML // Sarah Jean Perillo is an amazing stylist and good friend of mine who I have been working with, now, for a little under a year. We are very different people as individuals, but there is something about the way we come together and create shoots that just works. Jess Plummer is an amazing makeup artist Sarah introduced me to who I have, also, gotten the chance to work with for many editorials. There are so many people (I don’t often work with people whom I wouldn’t consider working with again in the future), but there is also, of course, my awesome brother. It has been amazing to work together with him finally after all these years of living together. I just recently filmed a CHPYER for his rap group KGC and it has definitely been a great experience to work creatively with family. They are all a really talented group of rappers based in Chicago. Watch them here:

 


BT // 
How is it working at Ford Models? What are some of your daily tasks?
ML // Ford is amazing. I just started working in the Art Department, two months ago. My days are never the same: we do anything from filming promotional material for the models, re-touching, doing photoshoots, creating moodboards, pitching ideas, printing the girls books (the list goes on and on). Everyone at Ford is a pleasure to work with, very hard working and passionate about what they do. I couldn’t be happier. I get to do everything I love everyday and I am constantly learning from everyone around me.

BT // 
What was your favorite NY Fashion Week moment from this year?
ML // Probably, the after-parties and seeing the celebration of all the insanely hard work that goes into making fashion week possible.

BT /
/ Who are your favorite emerging designers that you think we should keep an eye on?
ML // I really support Annika Inez and her new line INEZ (which has been mentioned early). Her casted metal pieces are gorgeous. I can’t wait for her new collection to come out.

BT // How would you describe your own personal style?
ML // I kind of dress like a cross between Henry Spencer in Eraserhead and old-school Wionana Ryder. I really like the contrast of an oversized shirt with tight bottoms and large shoes, or oversized pants with a tight top and big shoes. I like to play with androgyny, in the way I dress. I have a thing for silk, velvet and any material that feels good against my skin.

BT // Imagining your future is necessary to reach your goals, and as a creative, I believe it’s important to stay on track. Where do you imagine seeing yourself and your work in 5 and 10 years?
ML // I see myself, hopefully, doing exactly what I am doing right now (but traveling more, working and meeting with more and more people). I have yet to leave the country, besides Montreal, so I hope to do a lot of that. I have always wanted to properly produce a short, independent film in the future and shoot for larger magazine publications.

BT // The Bird Trouble brand encourages self-expression and we think you’re doing a great job at doing what you love, and truly expressing yourself. What does self-expression mean to you?
ML // I think self-expression means feeling comfortable in your own skin and doing whatever makes you feel good. Whether that is through art, exercise, work, etc. I just think it is really important to stay in tune with yourself and your desires.

Follow Monet’s social media pages:

INSTAGRAM: @monetlucki
TWITTER: @monetlucki
WEBSITE: http://www.monetlucki.com

Follow the other creatives and magazines that were mentioned:

@glumshot [Moriah]
@tabularasamagazine
@blucap
@sarahjeanperillo
@umag
@ladygunn
@raulguerrero

One thought on “Artist Interview with Monet Lucki, NYC Photographer & Videographer

  1. Monet is just as stunning as her work! I enjoyed this post thoroughly! Glad to see all of the success that has come her way and i guarantee will continue to!

COMMENTS.

