It’s a tiny little thing. A chia seed. // Guest Post by Alicia Alice of Vert Chicago.


Thank you to my gal pal, Alicia Alice of http://www.vertchicago.com for contributing her time & sharing her healthy eating knowledge for the Bird Trouble blog! // 

I’ll be honest, I hated chia seeds in the beginning. Maybe it was our introduction; afterall first impressions are lasting. I was working on a recipe for who remembers what and I had to reach into an industrial sized bucket that contained these tiny little brown specks in a gelatinous mixture, scoop them out and throw them in a blender. They were brown and slimy and I’m pretty sure they were staring back at me.

Years later, while living in LA, I worked at a raw cafe where everyone seemed to know so much about all things alternative health. While scooping these slimy little things, I expressed my dislike of chia. Mistake. Never say you dislike chia to a healthy person. I learned that the hard way. In their defense, they were not alone in their chia warship. Historically, chia seeds got their name from the Mayan word “strength” and were considered to be almost magical. So, what makes them so great? I did my research and fell in love with this super food. Here are a few reasons you should worship chia seeds as well:

-Pound shedding. Chia seeds reduce food cravings and make you feel full faster, reducing your calorie intake
-Hydration. “Chia gel” hydrates the body
-Blood. These lil seeds have been known to to reduce blood pressure and since chia seeds slow down how fast our bodies convert carbohydrates into sugars, they can control blood sugar
-Omega-3. Your body needs this (think heart, skin, hair, nails) and chia seeds have more Omega-3 than salmon!
-Bones. One ounce of chia delivers 18% of you daily calcium value; 3Xs more than skim milk!
-FIBER. There are nearly 11 gram of fiber per ounce and that is 42%! of the recommended value of fiber.. in a single serving.

So now what? Well, now EAT CHIA.

You can add it to anything, really. Drinks being one of the easiest and this is one of my favorite recipes:

  • ½ cup almond milk (or your favorite milk substitute)
  • 1 tbl Chia Seeds
  • ½ c. raspberries
  • ½ c blueberries
  • 1 Tangarine, peeled
  • 4-5 leaves of Kale Fresh
  • Mint to taste

Blend in blender. Easy peasy. *if it’s too “thick” add a splash of almond milk.

Vert Chicago is a local business based out of Logan Square all for music, art, & juice. Knowing a girl like Alicia is amazing. I’m so stoked for her and her new business venture! They’ve just opened their doors for business – so give them some love by checking them out at the Vegan Vortex on March 9th. Find out more details here. Check out their Instagram at @vertchicago. I hope to have her back for more healthy eating posts soon. 🙂 If you’d like to submit your healthy eating posts & own a business or are an artist, contact me here.

– Get our posts sent to your email by clicking here. –
– LIKE our Facebook by clicking here. –
Chat with me on Instagram & Twitter: @birdtrouble

COMMENTS.

