The Rad & The Wild // Artist Feature with Ian Reynold – Oil Painter from Oakland, CA

ian and ashley copy

BT// Hey Ian! How’s it going?

IR// Hey Bird Trouble, I’m wonderful. My “morning” (about noon) is in full swing. Drinking strong coffee with hemp milk, listening to really loud music and cleaning up the mess Samantha and I made last night. Oh and feeding my amazing dog Max and my Cat Eloise, they need breakfast too, usually before me.

BT// Tell us one to three sentences; it could be about yourself or thoughts on your week.

IR// I can’t believe I still don’t have any dark chocolate…

BT// What projects are you currently working on?

IR// I’m currently working on a 12″ by 12″ panel for a group show called California 12″x12″ at Gauntlet gallery in San Francisco, the opening is on March 8th, 7-10Pm. I have also been working on this massive self portrait over the past few months. It is 6 feet by 4 feet and really detailed, also it’s fully nude and shot aerially. I also have two canvases stretched and prepped that I plan to start painting as soon as the piece for Gauntlet is ready. I bought an amazing headdress from Miss G Designs out of LA and did a photo shoot with it on a girl named Keziah I met a few months ago. I have been thinking about doing a whole series of nude women wearing these amazing headdresses, I’ll just need to get more of them. We’ll see…

BT// What can spark inspiration for you?

IR// Inspiration is everywhere, the more I paint the more receptive I am to it. Sometimes it is more obvious like coming across great paintings (recently I’ve been looking at the paintings of István Sándorfi and Odd Nerdrum a lot). Sometimes the connection is more of a stretch, lighting is something that comes to mind. Just the other day I was driving to a bar in San Francisco with Samantha and we were at a red light. I was looking at the red highlights scattered across her face and neck and started imagining painting them, just at that moment they turned a light green! Oooh, that looks really nice too! I should play around with putting gels on my lights again! Oh shit, her face is green because it’s a green light and I’m driving! (as someone honking their horn behind me reminds me of).

BT// If you could work with one person, who would it be?

IR// Good question… I am going to study with Odd Nerdrum at his estate in Norway this summer. I just found out a few weeks ago. I am still in shock, I’m so excited, I don’t even know what to do with myself.

BT// Who have you worked with that you really, really dig?

IR// My best friend Ashley Wylde. We used to have this psychedelic synth pop band called Shake it for Grandma, it was ridiculous and really fun. We had this whole theatrical performance with costume changes, dancers, and other silly antics. The two EP’s we made are still on band camp at shakeitforgrandma.bandcamp.com, if anyone is curious. I’ve also painted him twice now, he’s not the easiest person to photograph but I managed. Anyways, Ashley is a musical genius. I can’t wait until he launches a new project.

BT// A playlist your current favorite songs.

BT// Describe what you are wearing right now.

IR// Black Toms with no socks, April 77 dark indigo jeans (denim and record label out of France, they make the best jeans I’ve ever owned), and a purple V neck T-shirt.

BT// What is your favorite vintage item, thrifted, or handy-down that you own?

IR// A coffee table that was my grandmothers. It is bean shaped and covered in black tiles that remind me of giraffe spots. The tiles are all different sizes and shapes and in between is an off white grout. It is actually in the self portrait I am currently working on, it is a huge pain in the ass to paint.

BT// What does self-expression mean to you?

IR// I have been lucky to have the most incredible friends and family in my life. I wouldn’t care about expressing anything if I didn’t have my friends. I am no introvert, but at the same time the more I work on my projects, the better I feel. The combination tends to be hard to cater to. My friends have an open invitation to come hang out while I paint, they can work on their own projects too or just hang and talk with me. I’ve even considered trying to get a studio set up in a public space! If I could have a studio in the corner of a cafe or bar I could work for ever!

I guess this is more about inspiration and cultivating motivation than self expression… But it’s all connected. Anyways, as long as I can remember, I’ve always been pouring myself into some creative outlet. Growing up it was playing guitar and skateboarding. That was all I wanted to do… ever. I was so eager to do that stuff that I would take care of my school work at break neck speed, either during school, right after, or right before going to sleep. I think I only slept around 5 hours a night all through high school. My mom convinced me that doing well in school was important when I was really young and I guess it stuck. Also, I had an incredible amount of autonomy during that time, as long as I got A’s I could do whatever I wanted and come home as late as I wanted. At the end of college, where I was studying classical guitar, I got into oil painting through a good friend and incredible painter Ryan Shultz. The last few years oil painting has taken the reins in my life. But it’s all the same, it all flows from the same source. I guess all I believe self expression is, is the energy one has inside them and is what happens naturally if they are allowed to do with it what they please.

Website:   Ianreynold.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IanReynold  Please like this, I am super late in the FB page game… It’s embarrassing.
Tumblr: http://ianreynold.tumblr.com/
Solo music bandcamp: http://ianreynold.bandcamp.com/
Shake it for grandma Bandcamp:  http://shakeitforgrandma.bandcamp.com/

Samantha Layingdarius Emily Dyptich 2012studio w pianoin the studio cropAda color 2012cody 2Ashley Flower face2

COMMENTS.

