Oakland, CA / Week 2 / Absorbing the partying, exploring, and letting go.

Loving the Bulb.

I found a really great quote on Goodreads.com from Ira Glass today. It’s definitely worth reading and reflecting on and since today was the day we celebrate a “new year”, it touched something soft and resonated with me. It goes a little something like this…

“Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.” 

Trish Keenan

This quote actually motivated the beginning thoughts I had today: to write a blog post. I’ve been feeling so busy lately that I haven’t been able to just sit and type-think-out-loud. So, hello! I I hope everyone had a great New Year Eve celebration whether you celebrated crazy or celebrated chill. I’m still in Oakland so I celebrated with my friends here at the home I’m staying at. It felt great doing something different this year. I’m used to celebrating in Chicago and not being able to catch a cab ride home for the life of me. This year, like every year is one of a kind, but is really cool in my book because I was in a completely new place with a bunch of new people to talk to and of course, my sweet Chicago buddies.

The Bay Area has been great. I can’t believe I’ve already been out here for two weeks. I’ve picked up some sweet found textiles and materials to bring back to Mexico, showed Bird Trouble on the sidewalk at an art show in Berkley and then again in San Francisco on Market St, stopped in some amazing boutiques, eaten really delicious Bay Area food and home cooked vegan food from Jimmy, and I’ve been around really cool people who do some really cool things – like Jaz & everyone who plays music all day long. I love it. Every day has been a party. I’m exhausted! I’m too old for all of this partying, haha. Tomorrow I’m meeting with a small business boutique owner off Piedmont Ave to introduce Bird Trouble to her and Friday, Jazmin and I are meeting with Rachel from MouseVox for a little creative collaboration. She’s a blogger and vintage shop owner out here that I’ve know for a few years through blogging. We’ve actually met once in Chicago for lunch and it’ll be nice to see her again!

My new vtg Levi. I asked Jmmy to take a picture of the friend it came with.

I skateboarded around Walnut Creek and San Francisco some time last week. Walnut Creek is where I used to live and is where I started the original Bird Trouble blog, way back in 2008/2009. Wild. I need to go back to SF. I haven’t been into the idea of being a part of society when everyone is in the middle of holiday craziness… I’d rather chill locally since it was just Christmas and then just NYE. Oakland isn’t crazy busy with people rushing everywhere like San Francisco was the other day I went.

I really like that Oakland is more chill but that it still feels like a city. There’s cool small businesses, cute thrift store salon boutiques, and a lot of creativity. I really like street art and that’s everywhere… all over. People have been friendly and DUDE, it feels so good to be able to speak in English all the time again AND to shop at Whole Foods. Serious talk. I can walk to a lot of places from where I’m staying at, which is always important to me. I’m a walker. I need a lot to walk to.

I’m not ready for my “end of the year” post… this is just my “hey, i’m checking in” post. I feel that when I get home and back into my own head, I can take the time to reflect on what I’m shedding and what I’ve brought in. Thank you all for being apart of my life through-out 2013. It’s been a wild one but it’s not a life if it’s not wild. xx, Alexz.

COMMENTS.

