SOMETHING ABOUT YOU WITH CAITLIN OF WANDERLUSTINGS


Hey Caitlin! How’s it going?
It’s going pretty well, thanks.

Tell us one to three sentences; it could be about yourself or three thoughts on your week.
My ideas have been flowing a lot lately and I am less frustrated with the new direction of Wanderlustings and way more excited about it! However, working full time in the event planning industry and finding time to work on my small business is growing more and more difficult as I get older. I would love it if one day I could live comfortably off of my art. That’s my dream.

What projects are you currently working on?
I am currently changing my product line over from jewelry to home decor, apparel and general accessories. All of the items incorporate my paintings into them. It’s a lot of fun and very expressive for me. But it’s hard to keep my ideas from getting out of control!

What can spark inspiration for you?
Lately, I’ve been finding a lot of inspiration in blues music, images of 60s and 70s interior design, drip glaze pottery and just having alone time in general or even walking around the city and acting like a tourist. It really is necessary for my mind to wander during my creative process.

If you could work with one person, who would it be?
Charles Eames. I would have loved to work with him at his design firm. To me, he is the pure embodiment of what it means to be a creative.

Who have you worked with that you like, really really dig?
I’ve worked with Lydia Krupinski of Pierogi Picnic for years now both in our day jobs as well as our creative businesses. She always challenges me to up the ante in terms of what we are developing. Whenever I work with her, I always get inspired!

 

Create a playlist with your current favorite songs.
Well, lately, when I’m painting, all I listen to is James Blake’s Overgrown on the record player. It’s so somber but stimulating. When I’m not listening to that though, I’m usually listening to vintage blues or jazz. Lots of The Dead Weather and Johnny Cash as well.

So I guess this would be my playlist:
– Liars – Plaster Casts of Everything
– James Blake – Retrograde
– The Dead Weather – 60 Feet Tall
– James Blake – Every Day I Ran
– Johnny Cash – Hurt
– Gin Wigmore – Sweet Hell
– Carney – Testify
– HEALTH – We are Water
– Dan Auerbach – Heartbroken, In Disrepair
– James Blake – Take a Fall For Me
– Florence + The Machine – Seven Devils
– Lana Del Rey – Off to the Races
– The National – Bloodbuzz Ohio
– Kimbra – Plain Gold Ring
– Portishead – Hunter



Describe in detail  /// or draw us a picture! /// what you are wearing right now.
I am wearing a little 70s dress I found at the thrift store. It’s almost woven with orange and maroon chunky threads. It has a really long, pointy collar which I dig. I’m wearing my Frye Campus Boots with some chunky socks…I’m a bit chilly today.

What is your favorite vintage item, thrifted, or handy-down that you own?
How can I pick only one?! I guess it would have to be my giant tribal necklace I scored at Randolph Street Market. Everyone asks me if I made it – which is quite a compliment. My friend actually sent me a picture of it highlighted on The Satorialist’s Facebook Page (on someone during fashion week – not me of course!) – crazy! (see Caitlin’s necklace on this next photo. it’s the chunky beauty on the left. The rest are also vintage besides Chicago jewelry designer, Dallas Maynard‘s chunky ring at the bottom middle. We LOVE Dallas!)

What does self-expression mean to you?
Self-expression makes me realize that I have a legit reason not to give a shit about what other people will think of my finished product. Instead just focus on the freedom to feel your ideas and creative spirit and just roll with it. I love it.

Find Caitlin & Wanderlustings these places:

Website: www.wanderlustings.com
Facebook: facebook.com/wanderlustings
Twitter: twitter.com/wanderlustings
Tumblr: http://wanderlustingsjournal.tumblr.com/
Pinterest: pinterest.com/wanderlustings

COMMENTS.

