Our visit to Merl’s Studio ||| Rachael and I be dancing!

A few weeks ago, Merl invite Rachael {who owns The Paraders – a great Chicago vintage shop that you need to check out!} and myself to her Garfield Park studio space where she spends her day making jewelry for her line: Clyde’s Rebirth, photographing products, getting in computer work surrounded by gorgeous warehouse windows. Amazing sunlight comes in from the windows & fills the white walled room with the best natural light.

Merl asked us to model for Clyde’s Rebirth’s new lookbook. I was pumped. I was like YEAH, THAT’S AWESOME. Let’s do it. Merl was so friendly & nice, real, and cool. We talked a lot about running our small businesses, sharing ideas, the warehouse, & her new lookbook. It’s rad being around like-minded cool girls. Rachael and I were really excited to be visiting & we decided to use part of Merl’s time photographing to take some goofy shots. I was set on making a GIF. SET.

So here you go, some GIFS.

[gickr.com]_868dde27-9f22-a894-61ac-f7c03e66cd94 [gickr.com]_a99a77ea-5f6c-fd84-5da3-b3b809cc86fe

Yay!  hahaha. Rachael is so much shorter than me, I love it. I want to squeeze her.

The warehouse is an old sewing machine factory – which of course drove me crazy. Just thinking about it drives me crazy. I love places with history. I kept thinking how I was standing in a place where someone worked in. Previous sweat, restlessness, & creation. Noise, dust, dirt. There was photos framed on the walls showing what it looked like. Belts 6 feet long. I wonder if any of them snapped and killed any one. Then I wonder if it’s haunted. Because that would be awesome. I think things like that.

I’d love to work in an old sewing machine factory. I just love how much history is in this space, and how it’s still being used with creatives filling it. When Nate and I were living with each other outside Philly years ago, we were thinking about moving to these sewing machine factories in the Northern Liberties. They were awesome. A lot bigger than the one Merl has because it was a live in space. It was just a huge empty raw loft space. Ughhhhh, I love huge empty raw loft spaces. Give me cement, yes, please.

Merl shares her space with Karyn from Dethrose Vintage. Karyn uses her side of the space to display her huge charming vintage collection on racks & on shelves. It’s a one-stop-shop for vintage open to her clients & new customers. She even has a changing room. It’s awesome. I love it.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Shop Clyde’s Rebirth
Merl’s Blog
Merl’s Website
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Come back tomorrow to check out Merl’s new lookbook for CLYDE’S REBIRTH
in my Wednesday Creative Feature.

2 thoughts on “Our visit to Merl’s Studio ||| Rachael and I be dancing!

    1. Lesbians on his living room floor, us waking him up by dancing… Anna & Jerimiah running around in their underwear…. it could have been too much for him to handle. #missedtorturingopportunities

COMMENTS.

